Please click on the leaves to the right to find out more about each class.

Children in Key Stages 1 and 2 are taught a range of core and foundation subjects, in line with the National Curriculum. The core subjects are as follows:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Children are also taught the following foundation subjects:

  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design Technology (DT)
  • Geography
  • History
  • Modern Foreign Languages (MFL)
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)

All classes are named after trees.

Year 1 – Sycamore

Year 2 – Rowan

Year 3 – Linden

Year 4 – Cedar

Year 5 – Willow

Year 6 – Oak

All schools are required to teach Religious Education (RE), and as a Church of England school, we prioritise the teaching of RE and are guided by Christian principles, as well as those of other faiths.

In addition to the above subjects, all children study Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (PSHCE).

For more detailed information about the content taught in each subject, please view the school’s Curriculum policy or the individual subject progression maps under the ‘Curriculum’ tab on this website.


All children are set weekly homework which comprises of a set of spellings, and also maths and literacy homework.

Homework is set on a Wednesday and is to be handed in on the following Tuesday. It is expected that parents and carers will spend time working with their children on their homework and will also mark it – answers to questions will be sent home and school staff will check whether homework has been completed each week.


Please click here for a list of suggested reading books you may wish to read with your child, organised by year group.

It is incredibly important that your child reads to someone every night and all children have a reading record which keeps track of how often they are reading and to whom. In school, we aim to listen to children on an individual and small group basis every week. We currently follow the ‘Little Wandle Letters and Sounds Revised’ series of fully decodable reading books in Reception and Key Stage 1. In Key Stage 2, once children can decode words fluently, they read Rigby Star Reading books. Key Stage 2 children also read ‘reading-age banded’ chapter books both at school and home.

In Reception and Year 1, the children are taught a detailed programme of phonics (the understanding of the sounds letters make). We currently follow a Government scheme called ‘Little Wandle Letters and Sounds Revised’, details of which can be found here.

For more information on how to support your child with their reading or any aspect of learning, please make an appointment to speak to their class teacher.